Long Service Awards

Celebrating colleagues across the University for their service and dedication to Leeds.

Colleagues celebrated with a lunch at University House attended by Professor Hai-Sui Yu.

Recipients of the Long Service Awards posing for a joint photograph with Professor Hai-Sui Yu in University House

Long Service Awards recognise the achievement of technical and non-academic staff members up to grade 6 who have worked at the University for 25 or 40 years.

This year, we celebrate the 50th set of Long Service Awards. The 49th time the awards took place was in 2019, before the COVID-19 pandemic.

Award recipients from 2021, 2022 and 2023 were invited to attend a celebratory festive lunch in University House on 11 December and received their awards during a graduation ceremony in the Great Hall later that afternoon.

Professor Hai-Sui Yu, Interim Vice-Chancellor and President, attended the celebratory lunch and presided over the awards.

He said: “The Long Service Awards are a wonderful opportunity for us to come together as a community and thank colleagues for their remarkable dedication, loyalty and hard work. 

“I am very proud to work alongside them and sincerely congratulate them on their invaluable contribution to the University of Leeds.”

Congratulations to the following colleagues:

40 years

Gillian Charlesworth, Residential and Catering Services (2021)

Ian Hardy, School of Food Science and Nutrition (2023)

Janice Warden, Human Resources (2023)

25 years

Catherine McAndrew, Student Education Service (2021)

Christopher Askew, Commercial and Business Development (2023)

Parmajit Bharj, Student Education Service (2023)

David Brett, Human Resources (2023)

Alison Brine, Strategic Marketing (2023)

A person drinking a glass of champagne

Anne-Marie Bromley, Library (2022)

Michael Brookes, School of Dentistry (2021)

Janet Chapman, Estates Director's Office (2021)

Julie Clark, School of Psychology (2022)

Jason Cooper, IT (2023)

Nicholas Creighton, Finance (2023)

John Dales, Student Education Service (2023)

Stephanie Day, Engineering and Physical Sciences Faculty Service (2023)

Professor Hai-Sui Yu gives a toast at the Long Service Awards lunch

Professor Hai-Sui Yu gave a toast at the Long Service Awards lunch

Angela Dean, Henry Price Residences (2021)

Michelle Dickson, Faculty of Business Support (2022)

Francesca Di Clemente, Library (2023)

Gill Elliott, Student Education Service (2022)

John Granahan, IT (2023)

Dee Healey, Faculty of Business Postgraduate Office (2022)

Stephen Hunter, Estates and Facilities (2023)

Sandra Jackson, Residential and Catering Services (2023)

People sat at tables at the Long Service Awards lunch

John Mapplebeck, Mailroom (2022)

Linda Marwick, Estates and Facilities (2023)

Harinder Matharu, Estates and Facilities (2023)

Claire McConnell, Student Education Service (2023)

Lee McHugh, Commercial and Business Development (2023)

Peter Morton, School of Fine Art, History of Art and Cultural Studies (2023)

Michelle Nolan, Disability Services (2022)

Christopher O'Connor, Maintenance team (2022)

A colleague receiving their award in a graduation ceremony

After the lunch, colleagues received their awards as part of a graduation ceremony in the Great Hall

Ravinder Panesar, Estates and Facilities (2021)

Stephen Parkin, Health Sciences Library (2022)

Jennifer Price, Estates and Facilities (2023)

Nicola Salmon, Vice-Chancellor’s Office (2022)

Alexander Santos, Commercial and Business Development (2023)

Valerie Sargeant, Faculty of Biological Sciences Teaching Technicians (2021)

Caroline Shingles, Student Careers (2021)

David Smith, IT (2023)

Colleague receiving their long service award from hai sui yu

Sandra Stoner, Student Education Service (2023)

David Sutton, Facilities Support team (2021)

Susan Tattersall, Residential and Catering Services (2023)

Alison Tindall, Psychology Support Programme (2021)

Vikki Wilkinson, School of Medicine (2023)

Jack Young, Estates and Facilities (2023)

Hamidah Zainal, Estates and Facilities (2023)

Posted in: