British Academy Fellowship scooped by University Professor

Professor of Philosophy of Science, Helen Beebee, has been elected to the prestigious British Academy Fellowship.

Professor Helen Beebee smiling

Helen Beebee, Professor of Philosophy of Science and Chair of the Editorial Board of the British Society for the Philosophy of Science (BSPS) has been elected to the British Academic's Fellowship in recognition of her contribution to humanities and social sciences.

The British Academy has welcomed 86 new Fellows showcasing the breadth and depth of arts, humanities and social sciences research to its Fellowship for 2023.

The latest cohort also reflects the importance of interdisciplinary research.

Many of the newly elected Fellows have received funding and support from the Academy throughout their careers and demonstrate the value of Connected Knowledge, a new communications campaign launched by the British Academy earlier this month to celebrate collaboration between disciplines and particularly those in STEM (Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) and SHAPE (Social Sciences, Humanities and the Arts for People and the Economy). 

Of the 86 Fellows elected this year, 52 were elected from 29 universities across the UK. There are a further 30 Corresponding Fellows from universities in South Africa, Germany, Australia and India - as well as four Honorary Fellows.

Professor Julian Dodd, Head of the School of Philosophy, Religion and History of Science said: “It goes without saying that I’m delighted about this wonderful news. Helen is a pioneering, world-leading metaphysician, and philosopher of science. Her work is characterised by originality, subtlety, and intellectual fearlessness. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer, more collegial person. Helen’s fellowship is an honour, not just for her, but for the whole School of Philosophy, Religion and History of Science.”

Welcoming the Fellows, the President of the British Academy, Professor Julia Black, said: "It is with great pleasure that we welcome yet another outstanding cohort to the Academy’s Fellowship. The scope of research and expertise on display across our newly elected UK, Corresponding and Honorary Fellows shows the breadth and depth of knowledge and insight held by the British Academy and which we work hard to harness to help shape the world.  

"With the vast expertise and wide-ranging insights brought by our new Fellows, the Academy continues to showcase the importance of the SHAPE disciplines in opening fresh seams of knowledge and understanding, while simultaneously advancing the well-being and prosperity of societies worldwide. I wholeheartedly congratulate each of our new Fellows on this achievement and look forward to working together." 

Founded in 1902, the British Academy is the UK’s national academy for the humanities and social sciences. It is a Fellowship of over 1600 of the leading minds in these subjects from the UK and overseas.

Current Fellows include the classicist Professor Dame Mary Beard, the historian Professor Sir Simon Schama and philosopher Professor Baroness Onora O’Neill, while previous Fellows have included Dame Frances Yates, Sir Winston Churchill, Seamus Heaney and Beatrice Webb. The Academy is also a funding body for research, nationally and internationally, and a forum for debate and engagement.  

Posted in: