Leeds Partnership Awards 2021

Winners have been announced for the prestigious Leeds Partnership Awards 2021.

Nearly 2,200 nominations were received for this year’s Leeds Partnership Awards

Leeds Partnership Awards 2021. May 2021

The coveted accolades celebrate those people who truly put into practice the Leeds Partnership – an agreement setting out our shared commitment to work together to support all aspects of our University community.

With 14 categories ranging from mentoring to innovation – as well as an overall award presented to a person or group who’ve had an exceptional impact – the awards are a wonderful opportunity to discover and celebrate the inspiring work of our staff and students.

Professor Peter Jimack, Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Student Education, said: “This year’s winners truly embody the values of the Leeds Partnership, showing the positive impact that a culture of collaboration and inclusion has on our learning community.

“The nominations we received were heartfelt, sincere and, at times, humorous, reflecting the true spirit of the University: working in partnership to overcome the challenges we have faced in this unique year. 

“Congratulations to all of today’s winners and finalists – you are truly deserving of this recognition.”

Until last year, the gala awards ceremony was organised by Leeds University Union (LUU) as part of its Celebrate Week – seven days of ceremonies to mark the outstanding contributions of staff, students and postgraduate researchers towards achieving this shared goal.

But with lockdown restrictions in full force, this year’s celebrations moved online once again, with the ceremony held virtually via LUU’s Twitter feed to ensure the hard work and dedication of the winners didn’t go unrecognised, even during these exceptional circumstances.

And with nearly 2,200 nominations received across 14 categories, there was plenty to celebrate.

Chris Warrington, Head of Student Support, said: “The Leeds Partnership, through all the nominations, shows how importantly we value and recognise our shared approach to supporting each other and supporting students.

“We can see that our shared commitment to working together supports many aspects of our University community, which is so positive for colleagues and students.

“It’s great to be able to continue to celebrate our Partnership, so thanks to everyone involved for making it happen.”

LUU’s Education Officer, Carolina Hall-Rodriguez, added: “'The past year has presented many unique challenges, but together the Leeds community has come together to tackle them. Whether you are a member of staff, student or group, thank you for your efforts during the past year.

“The Leeds Partnership is embedded within everything we do and our annual awards recognise the efforts across all sections of our learning community.  Congratulations to all of our winners and finalists.”

Winners and highly commended nominees were:

Equality and Inclusion

This award celebrates the people who strive to create a fair and equal environment in which everyone can achieve their potential.

Student winners: Alexander Akinbile plus Ruby Fatimilehin and AHC Equality and Inclusion Students

Group winner: The Social Mobility Society

Special commendation: Women Breaking Barriers Leeds


This award recognises the person who provides invaluable and supportive academic feedback, in both content and delivery method, which helps others to develop and excel in their work.

Staff winner: Kashmir Kaur

Student winners: Yara Chmayaa, Kacper Rozanski and Ashely Ma


This award celebrates staff, students or groups who work with a global focus. It aims to recognise excellence amongst those who have actively engaged in the promotion and maintenance of international or intercultural activities, education or competence. It also recognises those who are involved in the internationalisation of the University or Leeds University Union, formally or otherwise.

Student winner: Jian (Franks) Feng

Group winner: International Student Advisory Board

Special commendation: Holi Social group


This award celebrates a person or group who uses innovative methods and approaches to engage and excite others. This may be through embracing new technology, developing new and innovative ways to enhance the student experience, or presenting challenging ideas in a way that sparks discussion and further understanding.

Staff winners: Niamh Byrne and Sarah Richardson

Special commendation: Research Computing

Inspirational Teaching

Inspirational Teachers use their passion and dedication for a subject area to inspire others to be ambitious and enthusiastic, and to challenge them to develop new ideas.

Winner: Dr Christopher Randall

Special commendation: Dr Duncan Borman


Whether an SES staff member, an academic or a student, a mentor’s guidance and support encourages and nurtures others to develop their skills and prospects for the future, helping them to grow and progress, either personally or in their learning.

Winner: Dr Alastair Baker

Special commendations: Ailish Graham and Dr Charlotte Haigh

Personal Tutor

This award recognises someone who does their utmost to support their students, promoting engagement with academic and co-curricular activities, and facilitating their personal development.

Winners: Dr Christopher Hassall and Lynne Veal

Special commendation: Andy Smith

Positive Impact

This award recognises the person who has made an exceptional difference to others’ experiences through an outstanding contribution to their school, faculty, department or service, or who has worked hard to make individuals’ experiences better.

Staff winner: Dr Suzanne Young

Student winner: Surajan Singh

Special commendation: FBS Student Engagement Interns

Postgraduate Researchers Who Teach or Demonstrate

This award recognises a registered postgraduate researcher who, while undertaking their own study, has also actively and exceptionally contributed to other students’ education as a module assistant, seminar leader or demonstrator.

Winner: Liam Taylor

Student Academic Rep of the Year

This award goes to the school rep, course rep or postgraduate research rep who has actively worked in partnership with others to secure positive, student-led change.

Winners: Aysha Burton and Kareena Julier

Special commendations: Kundai Dangare and Carole Huntley


This award goes to the dissertation, thesis or final year project supervisor who has guided and inspired others to push the boundaries of their research.

Winners: Dr Miller Alonso Camargo-Valero and Dr Stephan Petzold


This award goes to the staff member, student or group who makes an exceptional contribution to wellbeing at Leeds through raising awareness, supporting individuals and/or actively referring others at Leeds.

Staff winner: Marcus Hill

Student winner: Deesha Chudasama

School of the Year

This award is made to a school based on the exceptional scale and scope of partnership working evident in its nominations.

Winner: School of Food Science (Student Reps, Technical Team)

The Partnership Award

This award is selected by the judging panel, comprising University and LUU colleagues. It celebrates those who work with great drive and vision to make Leeds the exceptional institution that we celebrate today.

Staff winner: Dr Mohammad Faisal Ahammad

Student winner: Janet Tokitsu Tizon

Group winner: Faculty Student Support Team, Faculty of Social Sciences

More in-depth profiles of each of the winners will appear on the For Staff website during the coming weeks. These will also be promoted via the weekly All Staff enewsletters and the Staff Twitter account.

Posted in: