Women of Achievement 2018: Dr Cristina Stefan

In the latest of our regular feature series – profiling all 15 of the 2018 Women of Achievement Awards winners in turn – we are highlighting the accomplishments of Dr Cristina Stefan.

With a proven track record within the field of International Relations, Lecturer Dr Stefan (School of Politics and International Studies) is also Co-Director of the European Centre for the Responsibility to Protect (ECR2P), establishing a network of researchers across 27 states.

She is honoured for her excellence in leadership, impact and research across several fronts, including sustained contributions to the advancement of early career women researchers.  

Winner of the British Academy Rising Star Engagement Award in 2017, Dr Stefan has a strong record of internationally excellent publications on the Responsibility to Protect (R2P). 

She initiated partnerships with the United Nations (UN) Office for Genocide Prevention and R2P, and her other external roles include contributing towards the 2017 Report of the UN Secretary-General on R2P – the most important annual document on this topic.  

The Women of Achievement Awards recognise the significant contribution and impact women at the University are making across our institution and beyond. 

Held for the fifth time in 2018, the Awards are a key part of the University’s Leeds Gender Framework. They are integral to our commitment to further promote and accelerate gender equality, support the career development of talented women in all areas of the organisation, and provide high-visible role models that will inspire others to develop and thrive.  

The outstanding achievements of 15 female colleagues and students were recognised at the 2018 Women of Achievement Awards.

They celebrate the significant contributions and impact the winners have made across the University and beyond. The women receiving awards were all nominated by their peers, and represent academic and professional staff, as well as students, and are drawn from across the University. 

They all share a common commitment to excellence and have performed outstandingly in their fields, whether this be in research, student education or student experience, scholarship, leadership of key University initiatives, or supporting administrative and technical activities.

Posted in: