New awards recognise projects that could change society

Fourteen final-year students will today receive an award for their inspiring projects.

They are inspired by the life and work of Michael Faraday, whose discoveries were crucial in the development of technology innovation.

Professor Adam Beaumont, Founder and CEO of aql, a Visiting Professor in Cyber Security at the University, and the sponsor of the awards says: "When I was studying for my finals, I remember feeling as though I wasn't good enough. I remember working really hard, particularly at my final year project and trying to make sure it was solving a real world problem.

“When it came to my graduation day, I found that I'd won the Jordan Award for that project. I remember what that felt like. I was organising my new office last year and discovered the award and it evoked those feelings again and I want to pass that feeling on to others.

“These awards are given to those who have not only delivered an exemplary and impactful final year project, but who have articulated their passion for the change it could have on society. I'm looking for our future leaders and change-makers.

“Faraday was passionate about delivering science to the masses and impassioned those for whom science, or aspiration was out of grasp.”

Vice-Chancellor, Sir Alan Langlands, says: “The Beaumont Awards reflect the University’s commitment to research-led education and research-based learning. Final-year undergraduate research projects are an important part of the Leeds student experience and often result in some truly outstanding work. Adam Beaumont’s generosity borne of his own experience will inspire our students to reach for new heights of academic excellence.”

The winning students

Michelle Akure (Engineering)

Olivia Byrne (Environment)

Alisha Flemming (Biological Sciences)

Jack Helliwell (Medicine and Health)

Alexandra Holmes (Biological Sciences)

Linda Latuta (Environment)

Katie McDonald-Meyer (Medicine and Health)

Jessica Fletcher (Medicine and Health)

Jaimin Patel (Medicine and Health)

Joseph Parr (Maths and Physical Sciences)

Rebecca Penhale-Jones (Engineering)

Joshua Woodcock-Shaw (Medicine and Health)

Georgia Zimmer (Arts Humanities and Cultures)

Harrison Oates (Maths and Physical Sciences).

Posted in: