New Year's Honours 2018

Congratulations to Louise Banahene, Head of Educational Engagement, who has been awarded an MBE in the New Year's Honours list for her services to Higher Education.

Louise, banahene, ec, stoner

Louise's responsibilities at the University include widening participation to maximise progression to, and success in, Higher Education regardless of background. This includes outreach, Access to Leeds, financial support and student success programmes at undergraduate and taught postgraduate level. 

Commenting about the MBE, Louise says: “This was genuinely a huge surprise and a real honour. It's so rewarding to help minimise the barriers to access and student success, and see the positive impact this has on individuals, the institution and the sector.

"This honour is an endorsement of the hard work and innovative approach undertaken by all the team and other colleagues across the institution, as well as the strong relationships we have with partner organisations. It’s a real a reflection of our commitment to widening participation.”

Professor Tom Ward, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Student Education, says: “I know I speak for many people here at the University, and in many external bodies, in saying how delighted we are that Louise has been recognised in this way. The exceptional work that Louise leads has opened educational doors to many thousands of talented young people and school children, and it would be hard to exaggerate the impact she has had.”

We also wish to congratulate the following Leeds alumni who have received Honours in the New Year list:

Jacqueline Daniel (MA Quality Assurance in Health and Social Care 1995) Chief Executive Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust DBE for services to Healthcare

David Earnshaw (English 1966) Chair, Outwood Grange Academies Trust CBE for services to Education

Martin Green (MA Theatre Studies 1996) Chief Executive Hull UK City of Culture CBE for services to the Arts in Hull

John Godber (MA Theatre Studies 1979) Writer & director OBE for services to the Arts

Jonathan Pywell (BA Geography & History 1979) City Culture and Place Manager Hull City Council OBE for services to Culture

Nicholas Stafford (Medicine MBChB 1977) Emeritus Professor of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, University of Hull OBE for services to Medical Research and Healthcare

Carol Holt (née Bettaney) (BSc Geography 1991) Deputy Director for Flood Incident Management, Environment Agency MBE for services to flood risk management and the environment.

In addition, former Chancellor, Melvyn Bragg (Honorary DLitt 2000; Honorary DSc 2017), was made Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour for services to Broadcasting and the Arts.

Posted in: