Digital Learning team wins international award

The team responsible for high-tech learning at the University has received recognition in the form of the Association for Learning Technology’s Learning Technologist of the Year award.

Digital learning team

The Digital Learning Team, which is responsible for the University’s external digital learning channels such as iTunes U, educational areas of YouTube, and free online courses – sometimes known as MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses), took the top Team Award. It was presented at the Association for Learning Technology’s (ALT) annual conference in Manchester.

ALT Chief Executive Maren Deepwell said: “This year’s winners demonstrate the scale and scope of Learning Technology and demonstrate how we can now deliver an enhanced experience for learners at scale.”

Professor Neil Morris, Director of Digital Learning at Leeds, said: “The Digital Learning Team has produced a large number of exceptional quality digital learning materials and online courses over the last couple of years which have been used and enjoyed by hundreds of thousands of learners worldwide. It’s great to get this recognition for all their hard work.”

The judging panel for the awards, which always includes the previous year’s winners, was chaired by Prof Diana Laurillard (UCL Institute of Education) and included Rebecca Garrod-Waters (Ufi Trust), Bryan Mathers (City & Guilds), Dr James Pickering (University of Leeds), who won the individual Learning Technologist of the Year award last year, Rob Howe (University of Northampton) and Richard Havinga (University of London Computer Centre).

The Awards celebrate and reward excellent practice and outstanding achievement in the learning technology field and to promote intelligent use of Learning Technology on a national scale. The Awards are open to individuals and teams based anywhere in the world. The 2015 Learning Technologist of the Year Awards were supported by ULCC.

Full details about the #LTAwards are available online.