Celebrating our Women of Achievement 2015

To mark International Women's Day on Sunday 8 March 2015, the University has awarded 13 members of staff or students the title 'Woman of Achievement 2015'.


The University is committed to supporting all staff to deliver their best and works hard to support the career development of women in all fields.  Its Women of Achievement awards recognise staff and students who have achieved an external prize or award for their work.

This year's Women of Achievement are:

Dr Andrea Jackson, Pro-Dean for Student Education, Faculty of Environment - awarded a National Teaching Fellowship by the Higher Education Academy in 2013

Professor Anna Lawson, School of Law - recognised for being the first blind woman to be appointed to a chair in law in the UK, and recently appointed to the statutory Disability Committee of the Equality and Human Rights Commission

Anne Clarke

Anne Clarke, post-graduate student, MSc in Transport Planning, Institute for Transport Studies - awarded the MVA Transport Prize 2013 for the best dissertation in transport planning and sustainability and the STAR (Scottish Transport Applications and Research) Conference prize 2014

Cassandra Moseley, undergraduate student, BSc (Hons) in Nursing (Mental Health), School of Healthcare - named Inspirational Student Nurse of the Year by Pioneers of Care in 2014

Professor Lindsay Stringer, School of Earth and Environment - awarded The Leverhulme Trust's 2013 Philip Leverhulme Prize

Jan Bilton, research technician, School of Medicine - awarded the 2013 European Partnership for Alternative Approaches to Animal Testing 3Rs Prize

Professor Janet Watson, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies - elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 2013

Jillian Johnson, Artistic Director, Leeds University Concert Series, School of Music - in 2013, awarded an MBE for services to music and higher education in Leeds

Professor Julia Newton Bishop, Leeds Institute of Cancer and Pathology - elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2014

Dr Lorna Dougan, Professor Anna Lawson, Professor Lindsay Stringer - 2015 Women of Achievement Left to right: Dr Lorna Dougan, Professor Anna Lawson and Professor Lindsay Stringer 

Dr Lorna Dougan, Associate Professor, School of Physics and Astronomy - awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Macro Group UK Young Researcher Medal 2013 for her contribution to polymer science

Katherine Watson and Molly Cormican, undergraduate students, BA in Textile Design, School of Design - won a national competition run by Campaign for Wool

Professor Jenny Jones, School of Chemical and Process Engineering - in 2013, developed and won a bid to be the director of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council Centre for Doctoral Training in Bioenergy

The Roll of Honour

Other women staff and students recognised by the University this year were:

Professor Anne Neville
Professor Barbara Summers
Professor Cath Noakes
Dr Eleanor Scott
Professor Galina Velikova
Hannah Roche
Dr Helen Finch
Dr Janette Clarke
Joanna Merrygold
Laura Mills
Dr Phillipa Coan
Dr Rebecca Randell
Sarah Pearsall
Sarah Underwood
Dr Sophie Guthmuller
Professor Tracy Shildrick
Professor Wendy Childs

Read more about their achievements.

Picture shows:
Back row, l-r: Professor Janet Watson, Cassandra Moseley, Katherine Watson and Molly Cormican, Dr Andrea Jackson.  Front row, l-r: Professor Julia Newton-Bishop, Jan Bilton, Jillian Johnson, Professor Jenny Jones

Posted in: