Six new partners join FutureLearn

Six new partners - five universities and the British Library - have joined FutureLearn, the organisation through which Leeds and other institutions are offering online courses.

FutureLearn Ltd, was launched by The Open University (OU) in December 2012 to run Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) featuring content from Leeds, the OU, King’s College London and the Universities of Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, East Anglia, Exeter, Lancaster, Southampton, St Andrews and Warwick.

The British Library and the universities of Bath, Leicester, Nottingham, Queen's Belfast, and Reading have now joined the original partners.

The announcement was welcomed by the Prime Minister during his trade visit to India, where he said: "This innovative new offer led by The Open University will mean that Indian students can access some of the best teaching and learning online from their home in Mumbai or Delhi.  I'm delighted that FutureLearn is expanding to include more British universities and the British Library.  I hope it will encourage many more Indian students to take the next step and study with a UK university."

Read the press release about the launch of FutureLearn Ltd.

Posted in: