Winners of the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Health and Safety 2012

Health and Safety Services have announced the award-winners for the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Health and Safety 2012 at a special prize-giving ceremony on campus.

health and safety

The prize-giving ceremony for the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Health and Safety 2012 was held on Thursday 17 January 2013 (marking the anniversary of the signing of the ‘Revitalising Health and Safety’ agreement with the campus trade unions on 18 January).

The awards were open to all staff members and honoured inspiration, innovation and dedication by recognising and celebrating best health and safety practice.

The ceremony saw the presentation of the awards by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Michael Arthur. The awards were headlined by the coveted ‘Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Health and Safety’ - personally selected as the most inspiring entry by the Vice-Chancellor himself.

The winners were as follows:

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Health and Safety:

‘Work experience participants’ team (Faculty of Engineering)

Team who have made a health and safety change:

Plumbing Shop (Facilities Directorate)

Unsung Hero:

Fiona Knights (School of Healthcare)

Supporting Health and Safety:

Robert Lightowler (School of Medicine, Leeds Institute of Health Sciences)

Beacons of Good Practice:

Amanda Wheatley (ISS)

Estates Design Team

Andrew Tomlinson and Steve O’Hare (Institute for Transport Studies)

Certificate of Special Commendation:

Quentin Outram and Tamsin Barrow from Leeds University Business School

Certificate of Commendation:

Malcolm Dawson (Security Services)

Congratulations to all those who received an award. 

Posted in: