Celebrating women at Leeds

The outstanding achievements of 14 female colleagues were recognised at the inaugural 'Celebrating SET Women at Leeds' event and photographic exhibition yesterday (Thursday 10 May).


Organised by the University's Women in Science Engineering and Technology Network (WiSET), the new event celebrates women in the University who have achieved an external prize or award in their field for outstanding research, teaching, scholarship or technical work since January 2009.  Nominations were gathered from our community of postgraduate students, research fellows or associates, lecturers and readers, professors and research technicians.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Michael Arthur opened the exhibition, which featured specially commissioned photographic portraits of each of the nominated academics.  Professor Dame Athene Donald, Fellow of the Royal Society, 2009 L'Oreal/UNESCO Women in Science Laureate for Europe and former Chair of the Athena SWAN Forum, was guest speaker at the event.

The nominees and academics featured in the exhibition are:

Professor Anne Neville (School of Mechanical Engineering
Professor Eileen Ingham (Faculty of Biological Sciences [FBS] and iMBE
Sandra Karl (PhD in School of Earth and Environment)
Dr Laura Coates (School of Medicine & Health [M&H)
Dr Rhiannon Turner (M&H, Institute of Psychological Sciences [IPS])
Dr Bridget Wade (School of Earth and Environment)
Professor Michaele Hardie (School of Chemistry)
Liz Meenan (School of Education)
Professor Alison Ashcroft (FBS, Institute of Molecular & Cellular Biology)
Professor Denise Bower (School of Civil Engineering)
Professor Louise Dye (M&H, IPS)
Kyriaki Myrissa (M&H, IPS)
Lucy Struthers (M&H, IPS)
Dr Clare Lawton (M&H, IPS)

The portraits will be permanently hung in the University.  It is hoped that these will be added to year on year and will become a source of ongoing inspiration to young women to take up higher study and research in these subjects and to pursue worthwhile careers in these sectors.  More details will be made available as soon as this is confirmed.

The photo above shows (l-r) Professor Louise Dye, Kyriaki Myrissa and Dr Clare Lawton and was taken by Lawrie Phipps.  The remaining photos, which have some rights reserved, can be seen here.

Posted in: