A Partnership to celebrate

LUU's inaugural Partnership Awards this year celebrated the achievements of both staff and students at Leeds, acknowledging those who have shown what a difference the Partnership makes in practice.


The winners in each category of the Partnership Awards were:

Inspirational Teaching Award for the person that has most used their passion for a subject area to generate enthusiasm and drive in others: Professor John Barrett, School of Earth and Environment, Professor of Sustainability Research.

Nominees: Chris Bowmer, Peter Olmsted

Innovation Award for the person that uses novel, innovative ways to engage and excite others: Christopher Lee, Student, School of Psychology.

Nominees: Simon Budd, Jeffrey Peakall

Impact Award for the person who has made the biggest contribution to their school, faculty or department and to others: Jake Rylatt, Student, Law School Rep.

Nominees: Jeanette Hannah, Catherine Roberts

Critical Thinking Award for the person who has challenged ideas and sparked discussion to further understanding of a subject: Dr Julie Wallbank, School of Law, Senior Lecturer.

Nominees: Jo Bryant, Shaun Derry

Constructive Feedback Award for the person who provides invaluable feedback, helping others to improve, develop and excel:  Dr Jonathan Mound, Director of Student Education, School of earth and Environment

Nominees: Abigail Harrison-Moore, Candida Skinner

Collaboration Award for a group which has worked together effectively to accomplish something positive: Philosophy Society

Nominees: Applied Health Cooperative Team, Undergraduate Research Experience

Mentor Award for the person whose guidance and direction has helped others to develop their skills and prospects for the future: Dr Neil Morrison, School of Mathematics, Research Fellow for Applied Mathematics.

Nominees: Serena Hannah, Jurgen 'Locklo' Neuberg

Extra Mile Award for the person who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to support others: Joanne Lay, Disability Coordinator, School of Healthcare.

Nominees: Maureen Buttree, Mark Westgarth

Participation Award for the person who is consistently prepared to get involved and reliably contribute to learning at Leeds: Liane Hobson, postgraduate FBS School Rep, Faculty of Biological Sciences.

Nominees: Jo Merrygold, Sabrian Zhou

The Partnership Award: The Institute of Psychological Sciences.

Nominees: Jeanette Hannah, Sue Pearson

The Partnership Awards were one of eight events during Celebrate Week 2012, which ran from 23 to 29 April, which rewarded and congratulated staff and students for their contribution to the University and the community.

The other events were:

The Sports Colours

The Scholarship Awards

The Intercultural Ambassadors Showcase

The Residents' Committees awards

The RAG Community Fund presentation to nearly 30 charities

The LeedsforLife Citizenship Awards

The Riley Awards for LUU clubs and societies

You will be able to read more about the Awards soon in the Reporter and on the LUU website.

Find out more about the Partnership

Posted in: