New Japan-UK partnership

Leeds is one of six leading UK universities to have teamed up with six leading Japanese universities in a research and knowledge transfer collaboration aimed at strengthening links with industry.

The launch of the Japan-UK Research and Education Network for Knowledge Economy Initiatives (RENKEI - meaning 'collaboration' in Japanese) was announced on 13 March 2012. The twelve participating universities are forming pilot projects for collaboration in three main areas:

  • technology and knowledge exchange with industry
  • student mobility
  • universities' social engagement

Among the pilot projects are summer schools for postgraduates and early career researchers, and a bilateral skills development programme for PhD students.

The twelve universities involved in RENKEI are:


University of Bristol
University of Leeds
University of Liverpool
Newcastle University
University of Southampton
UCL (University College London)


Kyoto University
Kyushu University
Nagoya University
Ritsumeikan University
University of Tokyo
University of Tohoku

Posted in: