Faraday Medal for Professor Alan Andrew Watson

Professor Alan Andrew Watson (School of Physics and Astronomy) has received the Faraday Medal of the Institute of Physics.

He was given the award for his outstanding leadership within the Pierre Auger Observatory, and the insights he has provided to the origin and nature of ultra high energy cosmic rays.

The prestigious award is made annually for outstanding contributions to experimental physics, to a physicist of international reputation. The medal is accompanied by a prize of £1,000 and a certificate.

More information about the Institute of Physics Awards can be found on the website.

Posted in: