Leeds signs up to agreement with Mexican universities

Leeds is one of 12 Russell Group universities to have signed a Memorandum of Understanding with 12 leading Mexican universities.

Professor Claire Honess signing on behalf of Leeds


The Memorandum establishes a Visiting Chair arrangement, which will enable senior colleagues from the participating universities to spend up to two weeks each year working together in the UK and Mexico.  The first call for participants in the scheme will be launched in the New Year, and the scheme is expected to run from 2016 to 2020.

The Memorandum was signed at Guadalajara's prestigious book fair, the Feria Internacional del Libro, in a ceremony attended by the countries' ambassadors and by Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport John Whittingdale.  Leeds was represented by Dean of Postgraduate Research Studies Professor Claire Honess.

Professor Honess says: "Leeds already has a number of Mexican students, including 21 postgraduate researchers spread across the University faculties.  Spanish, Portugese and Latin American Studies in the School of Languages, Cultures and Societies supports a dynamic and wide range of teaching and research interests in this area.  The UK-Mexico Visiting Chair promises to be a springboard for the development of closer long-term links between Leeds and a number of Mexican institutions, particularly in key areas such as the interdisciplinary research themes of Water, Cities and Food.  There is potential for exciting new opportunities for students, postgraduate researchers, and staff at all levels."

The 12 Russell Group universities taking part in the initiative are: King's College London, Birmingham, Bristol, Durham, Edinburgh, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Sheffield, Southampton, UCL and Warwick.

The 12 Mexican universities are: Universidad de Guadalajara, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Universidad Autónoma de Baja California, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Universidad de Guanajuato, Universidad de las Americas Puebla, Universidad Iberoamericana Cuidad de Mexico, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico.

Posted in: