University celebrates its 'Women of Achievement'

Ten women from Leeds' staff and student body have been recognised as 2013 'Women of Achievement' by the University.

The ten 'Women of Achievement' have all achieved since January 2010 an external prize or award in their field for outstanding research, teaching, scholarship, or technical work.  The ten women are:

Beverley Kenny - Head of Catering and Conferencing, Corporate Services
MBE for services to Higher Education, in recognition of conference and event management and catering, 2011 New Year's Honours list

Bridgette Bewick - Associate Professor in Health Research, School of Medicine
Society for the Study of Addiction 2012 Fred Yates Prize

Cheryl Frances-Hoad - Former DARE Fellow in the Opera-related Arts at UoL; current role - composer, School of Music
Two prizes at the prestigious 2010 British Composer Awards

Ella Jakubowska - Student, School of English
TARGETjobs Female Undergraduate of the Year award 2013

Griselda Pollock - Professor of Social and Critical Histories of Art and Director of the Centre for Cultural Analysis, Theory, and History, School of Fine Art, History of Art, and Cultural Studies
Award for Distinction in Feminist Scholarship and Research in Art History, 2010, from the College of Art Association of America

Jennifer Kirkham - Pro-Dean for Research and Innovation and Head of the Department of Oral Biology, School of Dentistry
The prestigious Charles Tome prize, 2012, from the Royal College of Surgeons for work in dental research

Jennifer Rodley - Student, School of Earth and Environment
RSA/Edward Boyle Prize for Skills Development, Outstanding Student Award 2012

Liane G. Benning - Professor in Experimental Biogeochemistry, School of Earth and Environment
Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award, tenure of award 2009-2014

Rawia El Rashidy - PhD student, Institute for Transport Studies
Gold medal in the Young Researchers in Europe competition, 2012, for the governance of the transport system pillar, one of six thematic pillars in the competition

Sheena Radford - Professor and Director of the Astbury Centre for Structural Molecular Biology, School of Molecular and Cellular Biology
2013 Carl Branden Award, sponsored by Rigaku Corporation

The University will celebrate the women's achievements at an event on 17 October, at which Professor Louise Morley, Director of the Centre for Higher Education and Equity Research and Director of the ESRC/DFID-funded research project 'Widening Participation', will be the guest speaker.  She will speak about the barriers for women in higher education leadership roles and about her work at the British Council.

We hope you will join us in congratulating ten of the many inspirational women that work at the University.

(banner image: (l-r) - top row, Griselda Pollock, Bridgette Bewick, Rawia El Rashidy, Beverley Kenny, Ella Jakubowska, Liane G. Benning: bottom row, Jennifer Rodley, Sheena Radford.  Photographs © Lawrie Phipps)

Posted in: