Celebrating sustainability

The annual University Sustainability Awards took place on Tuesday 4 June, celebrating the fantastic contributions staff and students have made to sustainability at the University in the past year.

Winners of the Sustainability Awards are as follows:

Energy Reduction
John Wheeldon, Faculty of Biological Sciences

Waste and Recycling
Bodington Halls

Christy Walker,  Section of Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Leeds Cancer Research UK Centre

Sustainable Travel
The Secretariat

Education for Sustainable Development
Julia Clark, Business School

Big Ideas 
Dr Jonathan Summers, Mechanical Engineering 

Adam Connell, student

M&S Sustainable Partnership 
Janet Willis, Cleaning Services

Outstanding Student Contribution to Sustainability
Hannah Robb and Adam Klink

Outstanding Staff Contribution to Sustainability
Jennie Hibbard, Faculty of Biological 

The award ceremony also celebrated Green Impact's biggest and best year yet, with 49 awards given to teams and labs that took part, thirteen of which were Gold. The Sustainability Team would like to congratulate everyone who took part, as well as the student auditors and project assistants whose help and time proved invaluable. 

Posted in: